Ingredients to Survive a 39.6 Degree Day

Melbourne graced us with the first signs of summer today as the state of Victoria reached disgustingly high temperatures in all directions. With a threatening thunderstorm that destroyed houses only days ago, this heat has seen people flocking to Victoria’s beaches or lounging by their pools to soak up the sun and stay cool in the fresh water. I however, am not a fan of summer and dread days like today. I don’t like swimming, I don’t like sand and I can’t go out in the sun for more than five minutes without burning like a crisp. So these ingredients are what made up my sweltering November day.

A good friend. A surprise call from a best friend who has just arrived back from a week in Byron saw me step outside into the sun. Luckily, he lives close by and we have the kind of friendship that after updating each other on the drama that’s occurred since our last encounter, we can just chill, listen to music and discuss people, places and whatever comes up.

A license. To get me to said friend’s house. If I had had to make the (short) trip via public transport, well to be honest, I don’t think I would have. The ordeal is too draining to think about in such heat even if we both live close to train stations.

A new song. Introduced to me by aforementioned friend. He played it on repeat but it wasn’t annoying in the slightest. Half of Me by Rihanna. Download/YouTube it now. It makes her sound like she can actually sing. Quite impressive.

A service-assisted petrol station. Yes, I am lucky enough to live in close proximity to probably one of the only assisted petrol stations in Australia. The family owned business are always there to pump your gas for you and on a day like today, I was forever grateful to the man who served me and fed my baby. Service with a smile and I was on my way.

A movie. This Boy’s Life features a young Leonardo DiCaprio, and is based on the true story of Tobias Wolff. Made in 1993, it is set in the 1950s where Toby and his mother end up in the dangerous hands of an abusive man whose temper penetrates the whole town of Concrete, Washington. Great acting, an authentic look and an inspiring story of going after what you want in spite of trouble along the way.

Exercise. I made it to the jam-packed gym tonight where youngsters and families were swimming in the pools and desperate workers were relieving their stress on cardio machines. They were all occupied, except for a few bikes. Luckily, that was what I’d planned to plant myself on anyway as I’d brought along something special to keep me entertained…

A book. I sat on the stationary bike and turned pages of Paulo Coelho’s Veronika Decides to Die. I saw the movie a few weeks ago and was left underwhelmed but we had a copy of the novel in the house so I picked it up a few days ago and am slowly making my way through it. I’d highly recommend it so far, especially over the Sarah Michelle Gellar film.

Air conditioning. If you have survived today without access to air conditioning, I salute you. My house, car and gym all were air conditioned, making the day bearable. I am grateful for electricity and all that it powers.

Water. Cold water in particular. I cannot fathom that so many people just do not drink water. I guess I used to be one of those people. But my parents don’t drink water. It’s so good for you, no, necessary, and I know you can get water from other sources like fruit and vegetables, but how one makes it through a hot summer without water is beyond my mind’s capacity. And having a drink bottle helps a lot. Water on the go, water through the day. Keep hydrating yourselves. It keeps you alive.

A cool change. As I stepped out of the gym I was expecting scorching heat just without as much sun. But a cool change is on its way. And thunderstorms are predicted for tomorrow. Sounds like a perfect end to our first taste of a dry summer. Let’s just hope I (and you locals) can sleep first.

2 comments
  1. d'sistaHood said:

    I must have been missing some of those ingredients and some of the ‘cool’ attitude to go with it ‘cos I tell you what, as much as I tried, my brain was fried! Thanks for your recipe, CL!

Leave a Reply

