What’s Hot?

So today I met the most amazing guy while I was out shopping. I always thought people who say everything happens for a reason were kind of crazy but my mind’s spun 360. I’d just bought a top from Sportsgirl and as I walked out of the store, I turned my head to make sure I hadn’t left anything behind. My legs didn’t quite get the message so I kept moving forward while I was looking the other way, and what do you know? I bumped straight in to McDreamy. He had brown hair with a cute little curl down by his ears and his eyes were bright blue. He wore a black jacket with burgundy jeans and a little beanie, in a deep emerald that brought out his eyes. And then he said to me, ‘You look so hot today, Esther. Like a sunrise”.

Okay, clearly the above is a total coup and while I’m hesitant to publish such utter crap, and don’t want to be labelled as the girl who cried wolf, I’m interested to know how many people will click to ‘read more’ after scanning those opening lines. Ps. I promise I’ll never do it again.

This long weekend has been a chance to rest and recuperate (from what specifically, I’m not sure, just ‘life’ I suppose). I’ve been to a photographic exhibition, seen friends, celebrated a few birthdays and spent time reading. I thought I’d post a little recap of some things that have caught my eye or ear over the past week or so. So without further ado, here’s my What’s Hot? list for the Queen’s Birthday weekend of 2013.

1. You may or may not have been aware that we were given a whole day off today to watch the incredible talent of Broadway, by way of the Tony Awards. In fear of spoiling the results for those hungover and still in bed, or studying for an exam this week, I won’t say too much. But in case you were tossing up as to whether or not to watch the awards, here’s the ceremony’s opening number from the ridiculously innovative and entertaining Neil Patrick Harris. So much love for Lin-Manuel Miranda and his ridiculous lyrics.

2. I’ve also been listening to lots of podcasts. I’ve written about podcasting before, but I want to reiterate that it’s such a good way to catch up on news and cultural debates. Podcasts also open up windows of opportunity for you to gain insight into niche fields of study and enquiry. Some of my recent favourites are as follows:

3. On Twitter I’ve (Re-)Tweeted links to Dumbo Feather’s What Does Money Mean To You?, Steve Colquhoun’s piece, Is shiny Apple rotting at its core?, this short film about Zach Sobiech who said “You don’t have to find out you’re dying to start living”, and Mental Floss’ Five Hit Songs, Translated.

4. This pin has been repinned from one of my Pinterest boards 46 times and liked seven times.

18177a18f9a40a2447c7fadbd3a70c3d

6. Here’s a Greenhouse made of caramelised sugar.

Solarium-9

7. And here’s a collection of cupboards, drawers, fridges and ovens. Click on the picture for more in  Erik Klein Wolterink‘s photographic series.

kitchen-portraits-by-erik-klein-wolterink-6

Hope you’ve relished your last long weekend until November, Melbournians.

You can follow me on Twitter @estherlf or on Pinterest here.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

